Shared Services

Purpose

Upcoming Meetings Committee Members Resources In The News

 

Purpose

Pursuant to Ohio Law (Am. Sub. H.B. 153) The Chancellor of the Ohio Board of Regents is charged with the responsibility of creating a higher education efficiency advisory committee.  Specifically, the law states:

 

The Chancellor of the Board of Regents shall establish an efficiency advisory committee for the purpose of generating optimal efficiency plans for campuses, identifying shared services opportunities, and sharing best practices.  The efficiency advisory committee shall also attempt to reduce the cost of textbooks and other education resource materials.  The committee shall meet at the call of the Chancellor or the Chancellor’s designee, but at least quarterly.  Each state institution of higher education shall designate an employee to serve as its efficiency officer responsible for the evaluation and improvement of operational efficiencies on campus.  Each efficiency officer shall serve on the efficiency advisory committee.

 

Upcoming Meetings

  • None currently scheduled

 

Committee Members

INSTITUTION REPRESENTATIVE

FOUR-YEAR INSTITUTIONS

Bowling Green State University

Rodney Rogers
Provost
419-372-2915
rrogers@bgsu.edu

Central State University

Milton Thompson
Facilities Director
937-376-6628/6664
mthompson@centralstate.edu

Cleveland State University

Timothy J. Long
Associate Vice President, Finance & Technology
216-687-5401
T.J.Long@csuohio.edu

Kent State University

Gregg Floyd, Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration
330-672-2422
gfloyd@kent.edu

Miami University

David Creamer
Vice President for Finance and Business Services
513-529-4226
creamerd@muohio.edu

Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED)

Rich Lewis
Secretary Board of Trustees & Director, Governmental Relations
330-325-6344
rwl@neomed.edu

Ohio State University

Geoff Chatas
Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
614-292-9232
chatas.1@osu.edu

Ohio University

Dr. Terry Conry
Associate Vice President for Finance and Administration
740-593-0736
conry@ohio.edu

Shawnee State University

Dr. Jonica Burke
Director of Institutional Finance
740.351.3039
jburke@shawnee.edu

University of Akron

Nathan Mortimer
Associate Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness
330-972-6501
njm9@uakron.edu

University of Cincinnati

Robert F. Ambach, MPA
Sr. VP for Administration & Finance
513-556-2413
ambachrf@UCMAIL.UC.EDU

University of Toledo

Chuck Lehnert
Vice President of Administration
419-530-1447
charles.lehnert@utoledo.edu

Wright State University

Mark M. Polatajko, Ph.D., CPA
Vice President, Business & Fiscal Affairs/University Treasurer
937-775-2002
mark.polatajko@wright.edu

Youngstown State University

Paul J. Kobulnicky
Executive Assistant, Office of Vice President for Finance and Administration
330.941.3673
pjkobulnicky@ysu.edu

TWO-YEAR INSTITUTIONS

Belmont College

Beth Perzanowski
Manager of Bookstore Operations
740-695-9500 ext. 1033
bperzanowski@belmontcollege.edu

Central Ohio Technical College

David Brillhart
Vice President for Business and Finance
740-366-9319
Brillhart.5@osu.edu

Cincinnati State Technical and Community College

Michael Geoghegan
Vice President of Finance and Treasurer
513 569-1586
Michael.geoghegan@cincinnatistate.edu

Clark State Community College

Dr. David Devier
Vice-President of Academic and Student Affairs
333-328-6025
devierd@clarkstate.edu

Columbus State Community College

Rhonda Ward
Budget Director
614.287.2717
rward27@cscc.edu

Cuyahoga Community College

Mike Abouserhal
Vice President of Finance and Business
216 987-4709
Mike.Abouserhal@Tri-C.edu

Eastern Gateway Community College

Mr. James McGrail 
Vice President of Business Services and Treasurer
740-264-5591, X121
jmcgrail@egcc.edu

Edison Community College

Dan Reke
Chief Financial Officer
937-778-7878
reke@edisonohio.edu

Hocking College

Gina L. Fetty, CPA
Vice President of Financial Services
740-753-6445
fettyg@hocking.edu

Lakeland Community College

Michael Mayher
Senior Vice President for Administrative Services and Treasurer
440-525-7255
mmayher@lakelandcc.edu

Lorain County Community College

Quentin J. Potter
Vice President for Administrative Services
440-366-4051
qpotter@lorainccc.edu

Marion Technical College

Jean Thomas
Accountant
740-389-4636 X 211
thomasj@mtc.edu

North Central State College

Koffi Akakpo
Chief Financial Officer
419-755-4702
kakakpo@ncstatecollege.edu

Northwest State Community College

Lise' Konecny
Director of Facilities, Construction and Renovation
419-267-1262
lkonecny@northweststate.edu

Owens Community College

Laurie Sabin
Director of Budgeting/Assistant Treasurer Owens Community
567-661-7282
laurie_sabin@owens.edu

Rhodes State College

Chris Schmidt
VP for Business
419-995-8342
Schmidt.cr@RhodesState.edu

Rio Grande Community College

Matthew J. Smydo
Director of Government Relations and External Affairs
614-403-5624
msmydo@rio.edu

Sinclair Community College

Mitchell Bailey
937-512-2525
mitchell.bailey@sinclair.edu

Southern State Community College

Jim Buck
937-393-3431, ext. 2650
jbuck@sscc.edu

Stark State College

Thomas Chiappini
Chief Operating Officer and Treasurer
330-494-6170 ext. 4256
tchiappini@starkstate.edu

Terra State Community College

Elaine Rosengarten
419-559-2393
erosengarten@terra.edu

Washington State Community College

Jess Raines
Chief Financial Officer
740-374-9562
jraines@wscc.edu

Zane State College

 

Dr. Chad Brown
Provost and Executive Vice President
740-588-1260
cbrown@zanestate.edu

 

In The News


37 state schools to brainstorm on saving | Columbus Dispatch | 09/20/12
Officials from all 37 Ohio public colleges and universities are to meet today to discuss how they can reduce costs to students and taxpayers and improve efficiencies...(Read Story)


State Universities, Colleges Focus on Sharing Services, Saving Money | Ohio Board of Regents News Release | 09/20/12
An advisory committee tasked with finding ways that Ohio’s public colleges and universities can share services, operate more efficiently and save money had its first meeting today. (Read More) 

 

 

 

Resources

Beyond Boundaries: A Shared Services Action Plan for Ohio Schools and Governments | June 2012 (PDF)

With government in Ohio growing faster than the economy, and experiencing increasing public demand for services, the need to identify efficiencies has become urgent. In separate studies, the Ohio and Regional Chambers of Commerce, the Compact with Ohio Cities Task Force and the Commission on Local Government Reform each pointed to the state’s fragmented service delivery system and recommended further pursuit of shared services to create these efficiencies and improve service delivery.
 

----------
 

SkinnyOhio.org: Smarter, Streamlined Government
Ohio’s fiscal reality demands - and its citizens deserve - clean, accountable and efficient government.  skinnyOhio.org is a new tool in our effort to meet this standard.  Through this site, we share best practices in critical areas of government agencies that performance audits have identified as opportunities for potential savings. 

 

Back to top