Guaranteed Transfer Pathways

Overview Committees Important Documents Resources For Students



Section 3333.16(C) of the Ohio Revised Code was signed into law in June of 2015. This law requires the Chancellor of the Ohio Department of Higher Education to develop a process, by December 1, 2018, to establish statewide guaranteed transfer pathways from two-year to four-year degree programs in an equivalent field. This effort is directly related to Ohio’s initiatives in college affordability and degree completion. The Ohio Guaranteed Transfer Pathways Statewide Steering Committee was created and has begun work on implementing the legislation.


Ohio Guaranteed Transfer Pathways Statewide Steering Committee

In order to move forward with the development and implementation of guaranteed transfer pathways, a statewide steering committee has been formed, which will oversee the progress. The steering committee is co-chaired by Dr. Randy Smith, Vice Provost for Academic Programs at The Ohio State University, Dr. Marcia Ballinger, President of Lorain County Community College, and previously Dr. Mary Ellen Mazey, President of Bowling Green State University who represent the Ohio Articulation and Transfer Network Oversight Board. The committee members consist of representatives from:

  • Six regions including one member from a two-year college and another from a four-year university within each region: northeast, northwest, southeast, southwest, west, and central
  • The Ohio Association of Community College
  • The Inter-University Council
  • Staff members from the Ohio Department of Higher Education and Ohio Articulation and Transfer Network.


Transfer Practice Advisory Committee (Academic Transfer Support Service)

The development and implementation of guaranteed transfer pathways will not be complete without effective wrap-around services like advising and transfer support services. Therefore, a statewide Transfer Practices Advisory Committee on Academic Support Services was formed to create an inventory of promising transfer practices.


Pathway Development Process

Guaranteed Transfer Pathways will be developed in clusters (meta-majors) with associated specific majors within each cluster. Approximately 50 major specific pathways will fall under the clusters, but more may be added as the process moves along.  The current clusters include:

  • Arts, Humanities, Communication, History, and Design
  • Business
  • Education
  • Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
  • Public Safety
  • Health Sciences
  • Social and Behavioral Sciences and Human Services

To facilitate the development of the guaranteed transfer pathways, Cluster Faculty Panel members from all 36 public institutions of higher education will be nominated by the institutions.  Due to a number of potential majors within each cluster, the Cluster Faculty Panel members will be individuals with curriculum or program authority for those majors.  The composition of each Cluster Faculty Panel will include:

  • Program Directors; Program Coordinators; Associate/Assistant Deans
  • Faculty representatives from the Ohio Mathematics Initiative
  • Additional faculty members as needed

Every two- and four-year institution will be represented, resulting in the formation of a guaranteed transfer pathway cluster network.  The network representatives will collaborate as a whole and coordinate the curriculum discussions at the individual campus level.  In addition, Ohio Mathematics Initiative faculty will play an instrumental role in guiding each cluster panel in the exploration and implementation of mathematics pathways appropriate to the discipline.

Cluster Faculty Panel members will use their program-level expertise to develop guided pathways that will help students better navigate from an associate degree to a baccalaureate degree.  Statewide institutional endorsement of each pathway will be sought prior to implementation.

This work will build upon the TAG pathway work through the examination of:

  • General Education courses
  • Pre-major/beginning major courses
  • Other major courses
  • Electives
  • Other requirements

It is anticipated that each Cluster Faculty Panel will need approximately 6 months to create the pathways. To do this work, the panels will:

  • Meet face-to-face
  • Participate in conference calls
  • Facilitate discussions and consult with faculty on individual campuses 


Regional Approach

Upfront intelligence research on graduation rates completed by ODHE and OATN related to Ohio’s transfer students shows that students that transfer within the same region have higher success than when transferring outside of their region. Although there are successful partnerships beyond between institutions in different regions, fostering regional partnerships and collaboration is considered an essential practice for creating an environment conducive to transfer. A regional approach is being taken when grouping institutions to build on these partnerships.



  1. Central Ohio Technical College
  2. Columbus State Community College
  3. Marion Technical College
  4. The Ohio State University


  1. Belmont College
  2. Eastern Gateway Community College
  3. Hocking College
  4. Rio Grande Community College
  5. Washington State Community College
  6. Zane State College
  7. Ohio University
  8. Shawnee State University


  1. Cincinnati State Technical & Community College
  2. Southern State Community College
  3. Miami University
  4. University of Cincinnati


  1. Clark State Community College
  2. Edison Community College
  3. Sinclair College
  4. Central State University
  5. Wright State University


  1. Cuyahoga Community College
  2. Lakeland Community College
  3. Lorain County Community College
  4. North Central State College
  5. Stark State College
  6. Cleveland State University
  7. Kent State University
  8. The University of Akron
  9. Youngstown State University


  1. Northwest State Community College
  2. Owens Community College
  3. Rhodes State College
  4. Terra State Community College
  5. Bowling Green State University
  6. The University of Toledo